The Club House, Footways, Wootton Bridge, Ryde PO33 4NQ

IWRFC 2019 AGM and awards evening

After concluding the playing season with an emphatic 77-28 win over touring side Old Culverhaysians, Isle of Wight RFC have been busy off the field, holding both its AGM and end of season awards evening in recent weeks.

At the AGM, election of club officers took place, and the following positions have been filled for the 2019-20 season:

President – Nick Puckett

Chairman – Ollie Boulter

Secretary – Kieran Leahy

Membership Secretary – Martin Newnham

Match/Fixtures Secretary – Andy Puckett

Social Secretary – Betsy Allen

House and Grounds – Kevin Blackburn

1st team captain – Lewis Murray

2nd team captain – Dean Jennings

Club Captain – Andrew Brown

Director of Rugby – Dave Metcalfe

Wight Wolves representative – Vicky Paris


The club’s glittering end of season dinner dance at Northwood House saw several awards conferred to both playing members and club volunteers.

Chairman’s awards – Neil Brading and Will Peters

President’s awards – Kieran Leahy and Dean Jennings

Biffa recognition award – Gary Warvill

Young player of the year – Salar Bettum

Best newcomer – Kevin Blackburn

Wight Wolves coach’s award – Cheryl Beale

Wight Wolves players’ player of the year – Vicky Paris

1st team player of the year – Luke Blackman

2nd team player of the year – Salar Bettum

Player’s player of the year – Salar Bettum


O2 touch begins at Wootton Rec on Wednesday 5 June from 6 pm, running for six weeks. Male and female aged 14 or over all welcome – no previous experience required.

map-markerenvelope linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram